A trip to the Chemist

2 12 2010

Antibiotics

Yesterday I got to experience another “first” here in Fiji.  It’s not something I would have chosen if given the choice but it was interesting nonetheless.  I haven’t been feeling well for about a week now and it all came to a head on Tuesday morning our time.

I’ve had a sore throat and just not quite been feeling myself for a few days.  On Monday night we said good-bye to Craig as he headed up to Vanua Levu, the northern island of Fiji, for a few days to check things out before we head up there.  When I woke up Tuesday morning I knew things had gotten worse but I tried to push through the day. My throat felt like it was being slashed by broken glass every time I swallowed and by Tuesday night the fevers came.

By Wednesday morning I realized these symptoms were very reminiscent of the Strep Throat I tend to get every few years.  Thankfully the CEO of the main private hospital in Fiji is a member of the Foursquare Church in Suva and he said to call him if we need anything.

After a quick call he had found me a doctor in my area that he said was good and had made me an appointment all within 10 minutes.  I had Kelera come with me as the directions I had to the office were, “there is a new building in Sigatoka….her office is right below that building”, after a few wrong turns we finally found her.

She was a very nice Indian lady and she took my temp and a few other preliminary tests then took one look at my throat and confirmed what I thought.  It was very strange to then discuss payment with the Doctor for her services, pay her and then have her personally write out a receipt.

We then headed to the “chemist” or the drugstore to fill my prescription.  They had two plastic patio chairs in the middle of the store so we sat here to wait for it to be filled.  I’m not sure if the clerks worked on commission or not but as soon as we sat down one came over and grabbed my arm and sprayed some perfume on it before I was even really aware what she was doing.  Then another brought over something else for us to look at.

All in all it was an interesting experience to say the least.  I’ve got 24hrs of antibiotics in me now and I’m finally starting to feel a little better.  Still a bit feverish and sore throat but nowhere near as bad as it was yesterday.   Thank you all for your prayers, if we come to mind please continue to pray for health and safety for the whole family. Thank you!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment